ADA Transition Plan

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), enacted on July 26, 1990, is a civil rights law prohibiting discrimination against individuals on the basis of disability.   ADA consists of five titles outlining protections in the following areas:

  1. Employment
  2. State and local government services
  3. Public accommodations
  4. Telecommunications
  5. Miscellaneous Provisions

Title II of ADA pertains to the programs, activities and services public entities provide.   As a provider of public transportation services and programs, the City of Anoka must comply with this section of the Act as it specifically applies to public service agencies.  Title II of ADA provides that, “…no qualified individual with a disability shall, by reason of such disability, be excluded from participation in or be denied the benefits of the services, programs, or activities of a public entity, or be subjected to discrimination by any such entity.”  (42 USC. Sec. 12132; 28 CFR. Sec. 35.130

As required by Title II of ADA, 28 CFR. Part 35 Sec. 35.105 and Sec. 35.150, the City of Anoka has conducted a self-evaluation of its facilities within public rights of way and has developed this Transition Plan detailing how the organization will ensure that all of those facilities are accessible to all individuals. This document has been created to specifically cover accessibility within the public rights of way and does not include information on other City programs, practices, or building facilities not related to public rights of way.

As required, a formal written grievance process has been created. Issues may be reported by submitting the grievance form through this website or the issue can be reported by downloading the ADA Transition Plan Grievance Form and submitting by mail.